My grandparents

When I think about my heritage I’m sad to say that I don’t know very much about my distant relatives or their traditions. When I think about what traditions and ideals my family has passed on to me I immediately think of my grandparents.

My father’s parents made their living farming. They taught their kids how to work hard and stay dedicated. I used to love visiting the farm when I was kid. It was so fun to run around in the fields when they were irrigating or ride on the tractor with my dad. I had no idea how much work it took to keep the farm in good shape. I saw it as a place of adventure and fun but now that I’m older I can understand how much my grandparent put into that place and I’m grateful for it. I’m grateful that they kept that farm and didn’t give up on it because now I have such fond memories of being there with my family. All those lessons my grandparents gave to my dad about working hard, putting your all into something you want, and not giving up when it gets hard have now been passed down to me. My grandmother lived much longer than my grandfather and she was able to give me advice and guidance through some of my worst years. She live through the Great Depression and it had a huge effect on her. She also wanted us to save everything and never waste anything. Although a lot of what she wanted to save was ridiculous I still think of her when spending money and it has helped me plenty of time to not waste money.

Image

My grandmother Wilma

My mother’s parents have had just as much influence on me. Although I never met my grandfather on my mother’s side I have heard many stories about him. He was a pilot and he owned his own personal plane which sadly I never got to go for a ride in. My grandmother though, has lived next door to me almost my whole life and now she lives with my family. She has also been there for me and although she hasn’t endowed me with financial wisdom she has always given me unconditional love. She grew up with an abusive father and still managed to turn out the most loving and caring person I have ever met. I can remember when I was little running next door crying. She would hug me and whatever she had to say comforted me.

Image

My grandmother Dorothy

I am so grateful for grandparents and the wisdom they have passed on to me, especially my grandmothers. I wish I knew more about my family tree past my grandparents and their family but I am none the less appreciative of what traditions they have shown me. And by the way, we are supposedly related to Sir Francis Drake because my grandmother’s maiden name was Drake.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My grandparents

  1. tjimenez7 says:

    I enjoyed reading your blog about your grandparents. I, too, really do not have a strong connection with them. However, I have also heard many stories about them. The pictures of your grandmothers are awesome too. I like the black and white filter it adds so much to the picture in my opinion.

  2. rdiaz29 says:

    I enjoyed reading your blog. My grandparents also worked on a farm for most of their life and the same gave my father and myself advice on how to survive the troubles that arise.

  3. dperez34 says:

    I really liked reading your blog and the pictures you used of your grandmothers are stunning!

Leave a Reply

