My Own Heritage Place

 During the period of this class, learning about Heritage and all the amazing places around the world with so much history, made me wonder of my own heritage. After thinking about my life and discussing with different family members, I came to the conclusion that my grandparent’s house in Mexico is my heritage place. This place contains everything from my childhood memories to my current memories. My grandparents house is the pace that I feel at home and that allows me to connect with my past and bring alive all the experiences that I had.

 Image

Ever since I can remember, I have always loved going to visit my grandparents. When I was little, I would spend my entire summer at their house, playing in their backyard while getting wet in the rain. One of my obsessions was to built canals. I would collect as much water from the rain as I could to then play inside and make figures with the mud. Then, when the sun would go down, a nice refreshing dinner would be waiting for me at the dinning table. I could never compare the feeling that my grandmas cooking provoked on me.

 Image          Image

Due to the amount of time I spend at their house, I was giving my own room that was mostly my game room, since I only live there temporarily. After dinner, my grandpa would take me to bed and read me old bedtime stories until I fall asleep. I would also play with wood cars that my grandpa built for me and I would imagine myself as a truck driver.

 Image    Image

One of my favorite parts of the house was the living room. Although it had no television, I was able to admire paintings from family members, pictures of my entire family, and unique decorations that my grandma would make. Everything was always in place and really clean.

 Image   Image

Now, as a grown up, I still enjoy the rain in the backyard, yet I feel weird building canals and getting wet inside them. However, I am still able to remember those days by seeing the tools that I would use and the toys that I would play with. My grandma has manage to maintain all these valuable articles that one day where a very important part of me and the room where my indoor fun took place. Not mentioning that the entire house still looks the same, conserving all the detailing intact.

 Image

This place will always be part of my life. Future generations will be able to imagine my childhood life and will help maintain the history alive. This is why I consider this house my own heritage place.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Own Heritage Place

  1. olayinkaoredola says:

    Nice blog, I really like all the pictures.

  2. tgonz22 says:

    I think its cool that you wrote about something that mattered to yourself and not something that matters to the rest of the world, because like you said its where you feel at home.

  3. storres27 says:

    i admit this class made me think a lot about myself and where i came from and i can also relate because whenever i am at my grandparents houses i feel completely different, i look around at photos or knickknacks and it makes me feel closer to them, especially when there are stories behind it all

  4. I am jealous that you have been able to make your childhood memories at your grandparents house. Growing up with them must have been great. I hope some day I can visit my grandparents and make memories there.

  5. kmorrow3 says:

    I think a lot of the joy that we get in this class comes from us being able to relate the information about heritage that we learn here to what our lives and the cultural traditions that we experience everyday in our households. Knowing the history of our heritage also helps us to be able to pass down that information through generations and can maybe even ensure a path for our future. After all, you know what people say, You cant know where our going til you know where you’ve been.

  6. jmelendez2 says:

    Your description of you childhood was very well developed and really paints your heritage and family in a good light. I am envious of your glorious childhood filled with cultural traditions.

  7. rdiaz29 says:

    I envy you. I never got the chance to spend time with my grandparents. Hopefully you keep the tradition years from now.

  8. tjimenez7 says:

    Your picture of your grandparent’s house and how you were involved in it almost sounds like a dream. It truly is beautiful and almost magical. I loved your blog!

Leave a Reply

