Home Comes First

After attending this class, it has truly taught me the importance of the heritage sites that exist in our very home, California. With that being said the first on my list, which I am sure I share with many, is Yosemite. I have been attending this school for two years now and have still yet to drive the hour journey up to our own beautiful world heritage site. I went as a kid, but I am positive the experience will be brand new. 

Image

     However, before this I would like to go see the courthouse in Merced (Merced is not in WordPress’s dictionary) as it was mentioned in class to be worth noticing. According to its web site it has been here since 1875. From a quick search I can tell it is definitely worth noting as a place to see.

 Image

After seeing this the one on my list is way up north to the Redwood Forests. As a Californian I feel it hits equivalent importance to the Yosemite National forest. It has been a pleasure learning about a plethora of locations along with enough details to understand the importance of their history and the battle many face today. While I still would not visit Afghanistan for the Bamiyan Buddha site yet, I do want to see it one day. Aside from that this class has taught me about world heritage sites and sites that are not on it but remain equally important and worth noting in future travels. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Home Comes First

  1. acanas14 says:

    I agree with you. Although Yosemite has so much to offer, I have not had the chance to fully explore it.

  2. tjimenez7 says:

    When I saw the first picture on your blog, I was so captivated by the scenery. I always thought of Yosemite filled with tress, but I see now that there is so much more to it.

  3. olayinkaoredola says:

    I really need to visit Yosemite…wow.

  4. I am on the same page with you! This is my first year here at UC Merced and have heard about Yosemite but have yet to visit it. It is so close i really do need to see this place in person.

  5. storres27 says:

    yosemite is a must!! hiking there is just so breathtaking and relaxing its just a whole new experience.. and for the courthouse i remember going on field trips as a kid (im a local) but i remember it being so boring, i really want to go for the museum tour to see what its all about

  6. jmelendez2 says:

    Yosemite is a glorious place to visit and hike, i believe that everyone who attends Merced should go to visit the site at least once before they graduate.

  7. rdiaz29 says:

    Now i will seriously plan on visiting Yosemite next fall. It is so breathtakingly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

