My Mexican Heritage.

If I could describe my heritage, a heritage that has influenced my taste in music, religion, morals, and food i would blame it on my family. Most of my family members where born and raised in Aguascalientes, Mexico, my birth town. Being in Aguascalientes taught us to be generous kind and most of all welcoming.

photo (1)aaa

aguascalientes_mexico_photo_agReligion is an important part in our family, every child has to be baptized, must complete his or her communion and every female must have their celebration into woman hood, by the age of 15, a quinceanera. But although that is celebrated world wide my family, also celebrates ” El dia de la Virgen de Guadalupe”, a celebration specifically for the Virgin Marry, as well celebrating  family members that have the name Lupe or Guadalupe. On this celebration my family reunites, we built an alter in her honor and we feast.

photo (1)sfdhosd photo (1)fdd

Christmas is an important Holiday for my family, it is not because of the presents, but the biggest reunion we have yearly. We come together to unclothe baby Jesus, symbolizing his birth and we place him on an alter where he will remain until it is type to pick him up, this requires another reunion. We spend time talking, enjoying the food and listening to Mariachi music (grandmother makes us).

images dsc007111fddfphoto (1)asdifjoasdphoto (1)fsd

During these reunions the women in my family start cooking the night before in an attempt to get as much as we can done. We have different varieties of food such as tamales, mole, chile rellenos, posole, etc.

imgresSteaming-Tamalesmole7chileschile-rellenos-2

We are not a family that keeps to themselves, we enjoy the company of others family or not. My family is who influenced me in so many ways, they have encouraged me to follow my dreams, they have shaped who I am today. I am thankful for the family i was born into, wouldn’t change them for the world.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Mexican Heritage.

  1. jmelendez2 says:

    it sounds like you have a very immerse heritage and it is good that so many of your families practices continue to hold significance for you.

  2. rhenke2014 says:

    I love how close your family seems to be. My family is the same way we just have different food and all the pictures of food you posted look delicious.

  3. rdiaz29 says:

    This reminds me of my family. We always cook the night before but are still rushed. I like how you added your personal pictures to make this more personal.

Leave a Reply

