My Heritage

Whenever I’m asked about my heritage I proudly say I am Mexican. My parents come from Tamazula, Jalisco. It is a beautiful city where some of my family lives still. Although I have been there only once when I was younger, I have seen many pictures and it makes me wish I could go visit.I have heard many stories of all the festivities that happen in Tamazula, and I hope one day I can go and enjoy what my parents once enjoyed doing.

The Plaza in Tamazula, Jalisco

Like many Mexican American families, my parents came into America looking for a better future. Although they didn’t fall in love until they were here in California, they traveled together and that joined the closer. I admire my parents and my family who has immigrated into this country looking to live “the American dream.” In the end what they wished would be a perfect life is anything but perfect. But it just brings family closer together.

mexican american flag

One of the many perks of being Mexican is the food. There are many different dishes that are made for all different occasions. Birria is a spicy Mexican meat stew usually made with goat meat and is often served during birthday parties and weddings. This dish can be made in large quantities and so it is usually served at big parties. Birria

Another delicious dish is Pozole, which is basically a soup with hominy and either pork or chicken and a lot of seasonings. In my family, this dish is usually made on the Holidays.

pozole rojo

I find Spanish to be a very romantic language. I personally like speaking in my native tongue. I was raised in a family that spoke Spanish all the time. As I grew older everyone learned English and I would speak both languages at home. There was a time when I didn’t like speaking Spanish, but I came to realize what a beautiful language it is. If I had my way I would have my whole family speak in Spanish all the time.

In the end I am proud of my heritage and everything that has made me who I am now. If it wasn’t for the way I was raised my life and my views would be very different. Even though I live in America, I’m glad I continue to keep my Mexican heritage alive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Heritage

  1. tjimenez7 says:

    I really enjoyed reading your blog. It fascinates me how you have so much respect for your heritage.

  2. acanas14 says:

    I have the same respect for your heritage due to the fact that I am also from Tamazula Jalisco. It is nice to know that we are well represented.

  3. Great representation of your heritage. I like how you addressed not only you heritage as a whole but you spoke of you family and the efforts to live the “American dream” as well and how it brings you all together.

  4. I really enjoyed reading your blog and learning about the some of thhe delicious Mexican food. My favorite part in your blog was saying how ‘Spanish is considered a romantic language;’ in which i couldn’t agree more.

  5. jmelendez2 says:

    the Hispanic community does have a glorious many meals, it is important that such things are always remembered so the future generations may enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

