Extraordinary Layers

This past summer my mother surprised me with a road trip; a small vacation to the Grand Canyon. I was not informed of the location we were traveling to; the amount of time we would be there; how long it would take to get there because I was so anxious to know. I was not sure if I was even going to like what we were doing. I was full of excitement and panic–I did not know what to expect. I felt as if my chest was being compressed. I thought of everything and nothing as we were all on our way.

I was blinded for most of the road trip so you could imagine that my eyes stung with the immediate sight of the light. It was hot and there was no sign of clouds coming around any time soon. The crackling feel below my souls as I step along the beautiful land. I felt as if my feel could just meld with the land and become one. I felt as the vast canyon could just take me away; it had my breath already, might as well take me too. To be able to travel through time by just exploring the layers, wouldn’t that be the dream. The light surrounding it from one end of the earth to the other. I could have stayed there for the rest of my life if I were given the chance. It was all that I have ever dreamed of—roaring silence and serenity all around me. I felt an overwhelming sense of awe; it was beautiful.

The Grand Canyon had no importance to my life until the day that my mother actually took me to the location. Prier to my adventure I only knew of the Grand Canyon mainly because my chemistry teacher would tell us his rock climbing and camping trips within the canyon. Something about the way that my high school teacher, Mr. Elder, was able to tell his story was what made me interested in some day going to see it for myself. That day came and I loved it. Its complex simplicity was what made me enjoy the scenery even more. The dry ruins of land never seemed so majestic with its patches of grass scattered all around along with the river and waterfall that it holds all for itself. Not only does it have natural wonders, but life throughout it all.

I do not see the Grand Canyon as a ginormous ditch or another tourist area anymore. It’s the place where I was able to genuinely enjoy my surroundings and found peace within myself. It is forever etched into my mind as a monument that I would keep in my heart and as the sparkle in my eye every time that it would be mentioned out of my mouth. It is an area I will keep exploring every time I visit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Extraordinary Layers

  1. rdiaz29 says:

    Thanks awesome! It must have been an unforgettable surprise. You are very lucky!

Leave a Reply

