#1 Destination: South Korea

For as long as I can remember I have always wanted to go to South Korea. My first exposure to anything Korean was when my father brought home Korean food. To be honest with you I had never heard of South Korea or North Korea or anything related to Korea before that. Korean food was something I had never seen in my life before so the food my father brought was completely foreign. Bulgogi and Kimchi is what dad brought and I was instantly hooked. From that moment on South Korea was my number one destination on my bucket list because of the cuisine. From then on I have started researching South Korea like crazy. The people closest to me, my friends and parents, often joke around saying that I was born in the wrong culture that I should have been born as a Korean. Honestly, I’m proud being Hispanic there are countless things that I love about my culture, but I fell in love with a culture that was very unlike mine.

Bulgogi

Bulgogi

Fresh Kimchi

Fresh Kimchi

Honestly speaking I feel like Korean is one of the most beautiful languages that is spoken. Korean language is just so beautiful to me the way words are pronounced and the language flows is just honestly one of the reasons why am interested in studying linguistics. Linguistic and cultural anthropology are one of my main interest in college as of now because of Korea Studying Korea is my number one priority, I honestly wanted to travel to Korea for quite some time.

Korean Alphabet: HANGUL

Korean Alphabet: HANGUL

 

Seoul, South Korea

Seoul, South Korea

Since freshman year Korea has become a big part of my life; researching its culture and its language. I want a complete exposure to the language and culture that’s why I want to go there I want to see if I’m honestly interested in cultural and linguistic anthropology as a career. It’s such a beautiful place first is so much about it that I love but the food is one of my most important reasons for going there if it is just so delicious I just I never tasted anything like it.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #1 Destination: South Korea

  1. miapatel123 says:

    It seems like your really interested in visiting Korea. Reading your post made me realize that I don’t hear much about Korea and that I want to learn more about it.

  2. dvelazquez2 says:

    After reading your post it does seem like you truly appreciate the Korean culture, and not just the food. I myself am a huge fan of korean barbecue as well. However you go more in depth about the Korean culture and it made me want to research more on Korea.

  3. jortega95 says:

    I find it very interesting how you found your appreciation for the Korean culture through food. As a result of this, I make the assumption that you might find a lot of enjoyment through food. I know that when I was younger, I became interested in other countries and cultures through my passion for soccer. Ever since I can remember, I did my research on other countries based on the admiration I had for a national team or a club team in another country. This became very beneficial to me in later years as I very well knew the location of a lot of countries in all the continents with the research I had done. I made sure to know the language that was spoken at that country, their national flag, location, etc. I think it is amazing that we can grown fascinated with another country or heritage through just one aspect of their culture and nation.

  4. I really enjoyed reading your post on why South Korea is such a fascinating subject for you. I can relate with your story since I am mostly Hispanic but I am much more fascinated in my more European roots such as Irish and Italian. I fell in love with this part of me because of the language, music, food, and history and I plan on learning as much as I can about both of them.

  5. rashedaak says:

    The food and language seem enticing enough to go visit South Korea, very enjoyable.

  6. hmunoz2 says:

    In high school I had a friend who had the chance to live in South Korea for a whole month and when she came back she had so many great things to say about it. The things she said were so great that she made me want to visit it later in the future. I really enjoyed reading your blog because I learned more about South Korea that I didnt know.

  7. ktorres24 says:

    I don’t really know much about Korea but after reading your post, I have grasped a little more about it. It definitely sounds interesting and I like that you are very passionate towards it. The language is definitely something I would want to learn someday and don’t even get me started with it’s delicious food!

Leave a Reply

