Yosemite National Park as my Backyard

When many people think about UC Merced, they always wonder where it is located at. Most people just say it is located in the central valley and it is only surrounded by cows. However, the way I look at it as is that Yosemite national park is UC Merced’s backyard. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful world heritage site so close to us. There are many aspects to this site that allow UC Merced students to explore. For example, its vast land is good for all kinds of research. Also, it allows students to do internships in all areas of the park regulation offices.

Now let’s talk about the history of this land. The name Yosemite derived from the story of a young man going fishing at the Lake of Sleeping Water. There he encountered a grizzly bear and battled the bear. In the end he was severely wounded, yet victorious. Due to this the young man got the name Yosemite and so did his tribe, because Yosemite means grizzly bear. Many Native American tribes lived there, such as the Paiutes, Ahwahneechee, and Miwoks. The Ahwahneechee were the main tribe of the valley.

Lastly, Yosemite’s beautiful landscape definitely plays a huge role towards this site becoming a world heritage site. Its beauty meets the seventh criteria and its glaciation effects meet the eighth criteria. The eighth criteria required the site to show a special moment in history and Yosemite did that through its glaciation effects, through the tribes that lived there, and through John Muir. The site is much more than just tangible heritage, because it has a lot of history and personal ties with everyone that has visited the site.

 Image
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yosemite National Park as my Backyard

  1. danalba2 says:

    I love how you included the story and origin of the name of the land. And like I mentioned in my presentation I have developed a sense of connection to the park and the experiences we had there, I will definitely be visiting again.

  2. miapatel123 says:

    I like the facts you included about Yosemite. I found what you included for this site to be very interesting, and I know that I want to visit Yosemite again.

  3. dvasquez10 says:

    Yosemite National Park is absolutely UC Merced’s backyard, yet no one realizes that we are so fortunate to be so close to the worlds most beautiful landscape. I enjoyed reading the background information about Yosemite. Although I go mostly every spring, I really don’t pay attention towards the background information, I just considered Yosemite as the most beautiful landscape I have ever visited.

  4. rgodinez2 says:

    I agree with you on how fortunate we are to have Yosemite so close to us. I was able to relate to people who say that Yosemite is a place that you MUST visit in your lifetime because of the Yosemite trip we took and I agree with the statement because Yosemite of its unique,beautiful and natural landscape.

  5. jortega95 says:

    I agree with what was said in the article and yes it seems we are lucky to have Yosemite so close to us, I did not realize this until we went on the Yosemite trip. This post is more relevant to how I perceive Yosemite after having gone to Yosemite with the class. Also including the origin of Yosemite’s name adds a lot to your post.

  6. Yosemite is such a wonderful place and no matter how many times I go there, it still takes my breath away. During our class trip and from our group research papers, I learned so many new things about Yosemite and all I can think is that there is un-doubtfully more that I still do not know.

  7. ktorres24 says:

    Thanks to the World Heritage class, I learned to appreciate Yosemite a lot more. To be honest, I had never put much importance on it until now. I am proud to have such an amazing park nearby.

Leave a Reply

