Bucket list:Discovering my Heritage

Before immigrating to the United States, my parents lived in Mexico. They lived there their whole childhood. During dinner my mother would narrate stories, explaining areas I have never an the privilege to visit. I realize throughout this semester, that I still have a lot to learn about my own personal heritage. Which is why I have the desire to visit, so that I can develop a better understanding of my own heritage. I have explored some areas of Mexico, but there are still many areas I wish to see. While researching places to visit in Mexico, I discovered a few sites I wish to see. Thus, I created a bucket list showing all the places I desire to explore and learn about.

800px-Calakmul_-_Structure_I

The first site on my list is Calakmul, a Maya site located deep within a tropical forest. The more I researched about the site, the more I wished to see.  The site was discovered by Cyrus L. Lundell (Lopez 310). Something that I found very intriguing was that Calakmul was known as the Snake Kingdom. Calakmul holds one of the largest pyramid. Found within the pyramid was four tombs.  The tombs strongly resemble the ones found in “Rio Azul, Tikal, and Copan” (Lopez 310).  According to “recent excavations … we now know that the site was occupied from Middle Preclassic to Postclassic times.” (Lopez 310) The site holds a considerably amount of history, of a once powerful civilization.

images-1 images

The next place I wish to visit is La Ciudad de Mexico (Mexico City also called D.F by locals). My father lived in Mexico city for awhile, moving there with the purpose of finding a job. Whenever my father speaks about his past he repeatedly mentions many of the sites located within and outside the city. One of the sites my father spoked of was Puebla. Puebla is located outside of Mexico city and has an exquisite 16th century cathedral. Near the site you can also find el volcán Popocatepetl (Popocatepetl volcano). Puebla also holds a magnificent palace known as Arzobispado (UNESCO).

Colorful Steet,  San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico After living in Mexico City for about threes years my dad moved to Guanajuato. He stayed there for about 2 years, before moving to Tijuana. Within Guanajuato is la Ciudad Historica (Historic city). The city was discovered by the spanish around the 16th century. When i visit I would really want to see la Boca del Inferno ( Hell’s Mouth). Boca del Inferno is “ a mineshaft that plunges a breathtaking 600 m.”(UNESCO.web) The reason I yearn to see it is because the town is know for being the leading “sliver-extraction centre in the 18th century.” I admit that I also want to see the beautiful sites, because la Ciudad Historica is know for its stunning Baroque architecture. La Compania, a church located in the city, is a perfect model of Baroque architecture.

16232512-guanajuato-guanajuato-mexico--february-19-guanajuato--historic-city-view-of-16th-century-buildings-a

 

Once I these places, and fully comprehend where my parents came from, I believe I will be ready to explore other cultures. My thoughts are: how can I explore other cultures, when I haven’t explore mine? This is the main reason for why I want to travel Mexico. Knowing Spanish will help me gain, I believe, a better understanding of the culture than the typical tourist. It will also be nice to see the places my dad traveled, before coming the the United States.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bucket list:Discovering my Heritage

  1. brodrigues2 says:

    this was an awesome post that made me intrigued and made me want to go visit Mexico, a place I have never been before. I also liked how you are eager to discover your own heritage and learn about the places where your parents came from and about your culture.

  2. rgodinez2 says:

    For the 1st 5 Years of my life I lived in Mexico DF,and although the memories are vague the city was amazing and full of life. I would always go back to the DF because it was the spot to be and I would definitely recommend that you someday visit it as well.

  3. danalba2 says:

    I commend you on wanting to learn more about your heritage and culture. My parents and grandparents also used to share stories about their life and experiences while living in Mexico as well, and like you it caught my interest as well. Hopefully you can learn more about it and then share it with others too!

  4. I too wish to understand my own culture. I hear stories about Mexico at home but I have never personally experienced them! I would highly encourage you to go and visit them, when you do let me know how it went! You can possibly persuade me to go! haha 😀

  5. miapatel123 says:

    The places you describe amazing. I hope you can actually go visit them and discover more about your heritage.

  6. dvasquez10 says:

    My parents also come from Mexico, and they would also tell me stories about different sites in Mexico. Every time I would go to Mexico, I would just see the building but I would not actually learn the background information about the site. I would really love to have a full tour around Mexico City instead of just exploring the international airport! 😛

  7. jortega95 says:

    I really like the introduction paragraph where you state that through the course of the class, not only have you learned about heritage, but there is also room for you to go out and learn more about your own heritage. I also like the images you used. Being from Mexico myself, I know the wonders that can be found in Mexico and there are definitely a lot of sites I would like to visit myself. It is clear that Mexico is enriched with a lot of that can help you better understand your heritage and come to define who you are.

  8. hmunoz2 says:

    I think it is really great that you want to learn more about your culture. It really says a lot about your personality and who you are as a person. I really hope to learn what you wanted to know about your culture. I really enjoyed reading your blog.

  9. ktorres24 says:

    Culture is very essential to everyone and just learning more about your own, enriches one’s mind. Just when you think there is nothing more to know about, a million more things arise.

Leave a Reply

