Indigenous Culture and Society of the Chinese Civilization

           The term “indigenous” is defined as originating or occurring naturally in a particular place; native, associated with cultural authenticity.  A few examples of  Chinese cultural attributes would be martial arts, religion, as well as its renowned calligraphy.

           The Chinese define kung fu as hard work used in the form of self defense only instead of attacking purposes.  In many kung fu studios the master repeatedly tells his or her students that the sole purpose of each exercise is to only be used to prevent harm to oneself.  To this day there are hundreds of styles of Chinese martial arts, each with their own different style.

shaolin_kung_fu

The religion that is defined with the Chinese civilization would be Buddhism.  It was introduced over 2,000 years ago and is an influence to the local culture on three main aspects: literature, art, and ideology.  It is said by Mouzi Lihuolun that “In olden days emperor Ming saw in a dream a god whose body had the brilliance of the sun and who flew before his palace; and he rejoiced exceedingly at this. The next day he asked his officials: “What god is this?” the scholar Fu Yi said: “Your subject has heard it said that in India there is somebody who has attained the Dao and who is called Buddha; he flies in the air, his body had the brilliance of the sun; this must be that god.”           

Calligraphy was first used by the Chinese during the year of 200 BC.  It is known for its beauty as well as intricate designs.  The most known use for calligraphy would be a person’s name or individual seal of approval.  Only the privileged and wealthy citizens of China were able to read as well as write in the form of calligraphy.calligraphy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Indigenous Culture and Society of the Chinese Civilization

  1. Wow, this blog had a lot of good information which I knew NOTHING about. Good job!

  2. dvelazquez2 says:

    I was so interested as I was reading your article because all of your examples for indigenous culture and society of the chinese. My favorite was about how the Buddha came to be and the reason for why Buddha figures are shiny. I always just thought that it was a way of advertising the merchandise.

  3. btungumurhan says:

    Daniel – indigenous is not just the association of a people’s culture with a place. Indigenous people are generally recognised as those who have been living in places, but have been subjugated to rule and colonisation over the centuries by different peoples. They are often not the majority of population. In this sense indigenous is a more political definition, rather than a term associated with cultural authenticity. So talking about Chinese culture as indigenous is not correct in this sense.

    And what is cultural authenticity anyway? How is the term used? What does it imply?

  4. brodrigues2 says:

    I liked how your post really made me open my eyes to the different types of indigenous people that exist. im used to when hearing the word indigenous automatically thinking of native Americans. I also like how you brought up how the art of kung f is only for self defense and that’s what is usually portrayed in movies, the master or sensei telling them to only use their abilities to protect themselves and not to hurt others.

  5. mbrooks8 says:

    Your introduction is good because it was broad and in that way made it interesting firsthand. The format of your post is good as well because it went from broad, general and well-known aspects to perhaps lesser-known (but still just as defining aspects) of Chinese civilization. You also brought in origins of Kung Fu and Buddha; things we see in daily life but probably never questioned the roots of.

  6. It was easy for me to understand the aspects of kung fu, calligraphy, and religion. In your article you describe how each one contributes to the Chinese civilization.

  7. sbolanos3 says:

    Your blog provided me with information that was very new to me. I didn’t know that a Buddah was the way it was because of that. I was also interested in the origins of Kung Fu, you provided me with information on day to day objects and ways of life that I never thought of.

  8. anunez35 says:

    I really like the topic you picked for your post. I ever knew that kung fu was very integrated within their culture. I also never knew that Buddhism was compose of the three aspects of literature, art, and ideology. I think you did an excellent job, and found your post to be well organized and informative.

  9. rgodinez2 says:

    Your post is very intriguing and informative about different culture that are around the world. I would defiantly be interested in learning more about Chinese Martial Arts.

  10. danalba2 says:

    I’ve always wanted to learn kung-fu, I knew that it was an aspect of Chinese culture, but I never realized it was such an important one.

  11. dvasquez10 says:

    I have always been fascinated about how the Chinese culture values kung-fu. It is so interesting to learn about the different types of martial arts and the different styles every type has. The Chinese art is extremely unique and I love learning the background information about the meanings of the art.

  12. jortega95 says:

    This article was definitely very interesting and held my attention the entire time reading through. I found the introduction paragraph to very good. With the mentioning of martial arts in Chinese culture, I was reminded of when I went through a school of martial arts when I was younger and how much they emphasized self defense.

  13. I found it interesting how Buddhism was said to be introduced in China and how kung-fu was only used in self defense. I had never really thought about China and its culture outside of the Disney movie Mulan so I found this information to be quite interesting to read about.

  14. mgoldberg4 says:

    I had known a lot about China and Chinese culture after visiting China a few years ago, but it’s always nice to learn a little more than you had previously known.

  15. rashedaak says:

    This is very informative and interesting, I didn’t really link China to a religion but now I know.

  16. yjain916 says:

    Being a black belt in Taekwondo, which is based in South Korea I find it interesting that Kung Fu is also integrated in to culture just like Taekwondo. I wonder how different are own American culture would be different if a form of martial arts was taught and integrated in to are culture.

Leave a Reply

