My Mexican-American Heritage

    I was born in Fresno, California, a city where I thought was completely American, but I was wrong, the Mexican traditions were completely stronger than the city of Fresno in particular. I was raised in a Hispanic environment although the world around me considered me as an American. Having a Hispanic background meant learning all the traditions, moral values, and religious ideas. It was really difficult for me to incorporate both the American and Hispanic cultures because celebrating both the American and Hispanic traditions is really complicated.  Coming from parents that were born and raised in Mexico, and migrated to the United States in the 1980’s, did not change their Mexican traditions, and cultures. I consider my Mexican culture and traditions as my heritage, and I practice all the moral and religious values my family taught me. I have more knowledge about the Mexican heritage than the American heritage, but I equally balance and practice the cultures and traditions    

Mexican and American flag

Mexican and American flag

The main dish giving mostly in Christmas Eve

The main dish giving mostly in Christmas Eve

The main language spoken in Mexico is Spanish, which was the first language I spoke, caused me problems in learning to speak English. Adapting myself to the two complete different languages, I considered myself valuable towards the 20th century society.  My parents’ also taught me how to keep our traditions alive and how to continue practicing our cultures. I consider myself to be Mexican-American although I practice my Hispanic cultures more than my American traditions. A “Quinceanera” is considered to be a sweet 16 but celebrated in a Hispanic way when a young female turns 15 years old. It is a big deal in a Mexican family, it symbolizes the transformation of a young female to a female adult. Unlike in an American culture, a young female cannot be considered an adult until she turns 18 years old. The celebration of a “Quinceanera” is more of a religious practice, rather than a celebration. The day starts off by the young female taken to a catholic church to cleanse her soul and to allow our religious culture become part of her life. After the religious ceremony is over, the “Quinceanera” is then taken to the reception hall to continue the traditions of a “Quinceanera” celebration.     
My family considers food to be a big part of any celebration or traditional event. During Christmas Eve, the main dish is “tamales”, “pozole” (a corn soup mixed with different vegetables), “ponche” (a drink that has sliced peaches, oranges, guava, sugar cane, apple, and many more fruit), rice, and beans. In Mexican food, the most important ingredients are the spices, traditionally, spices is the ingredient that gives Mexican food the taste and smell. Having both my Mexican and American heritage makes me proud, because now I can be able to talk about a different culture than a culture that other people might know about. I can consider myself a Mexican-American person by the reason that I can follow the traditions and cultures in both the Mexican heritage and American heritage.  My Hispanic background is the platform of my moral values and tradition, which I will continue to practice throughout my life.
Folkloric dance

Folkloric dance

The Angel of Independence which is in Mexico City, Mexico

The Angel of Independence which is in Mexico City, Mexico

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Mexican-American Heritage

  1. brodrigues2 says:

    i like the fact that you bring out the point that even though you weren’t born in Mexico, the Mexican culture is your culture and your heritage because its what you practice and its the culture you most associate. I also believe that you can be part of the culture of a country even if you were not born in that country.

  2. dvelazquez2 says:

    After reading this I started to crave all of the delicious Mexican food my family makes back at home. Very much like you, I feel that I practice my Mexican culture more than my American culture. That’s because I want to keep my Mexican family traditions going, one of them being to learn how to cook authentic Mexican food. Also, similar to you spanish was my first language and I did have a little trouble learning English at school.

  3. rramirez46 says:

    It was interesting to read how you want to continue practicing your family’s traditions and how you try to combine American and Mexican aspects of heritage in your life. It was also interesting to read about Quinceaneras and the various foods prepared for the holidays.

  4. dchouu says:

    This post was very interesting because you gave your own personal background information. I really enjoyed reading about how you described your heritage with a sort of pride as well as informing us of traditional values such as the “Quinceanera”. With a background of asian heritage I do understand the excitement of preparation of the food for the holidays and what sort of comfort it brings.

  5. nlenriquez says:

    I enjoyed reading about your past and how you grew up. It’s was also nice to learn specifically the meaning behind Quinceneras, when before I viewed them as just celebrations. Moreover, I was so excited when you talked about tamales. I can relate since my family makes them during Christmas also. I thought your post was very interesting, and I’m glad you’re proudly embrace your culture.

  6. sbolanos3 says:

    I can relate to you completely, my first language was Spanish as well. But now I see my being bilingual as a huge plus for me. I feel good being able to speak, write, and read two languages fluently.

  7. I loved your blog! It was very well explained, and it contained a lot of good information. The pictures were captivating, I hope to one day really be able to go visit Mexico, because I heard so much about it and because I bet the food would be better there!

  8. hmunoz2 says:

    I myself am Mexican American and have met very few people that embrace that. I am really happy to see that you are proud of your culture. Aside from all the troubles that Mexico is going through, I think people forget of how rich our culture is. Thank you for reminding us of it. I really enjoyed reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

