My Heritage

Acapulco,_Mexico297_1greg_nikas_acapulco_sunset

When people in the United States hear the word Acapulco, the first thing that pops into their head is the restaurant; but for me what comes to mind is my home, the place where I was born. Most people know Acapulco because of “La Quebrada”, quebradabut of those who have no idea what “La Quebrada” is; it is a place where cliff divers stand on the edges of either a 40 foot or 80 foot cliff and wait for the most appropriate time to jump off, without getting injured.

 

I wish I could tell you with certainty that I knew what ONE nationality I am a part of, but I cannot do that. My parents would argue with me and say that I am 100% Mexican because that is what both of them are; but realistically speaking I don’t think I just belong to one nationality but two. I am not saying that I am not Mexican, I am just saying that I am not 100% Mexican. I am not ashamed of my ethnic background at all; I am actually quite honored to be Mexican and take part in the traditions that come along with that ethnicity. I was actually born in Mexico and have actually lived in Mexico for some part of my life; I speak, write, and read Spanish fluently. Being Mexican is a part of me and that will never go away and I don’t want it too. But others, like my parents, need to understand that I am also American as well. Although I am fluent in Spanish, I am also fluent in English as well. Even though I was not born here, I am United State citizen. There are two parts of me that make me who I am, and I don’t wish to change that, I am proud of being both Mexican and American. When people in the United States hear the word Acapulco, the first thing that pops into their head is the restaurant. mexico-usa-flag-montage

Thanks to me being both Mexican and American I get to celebrate double the Christmases. On December 25th I celebrate Christmas like any normal American, but during January I get to celebrate the Hispanic version of this known as, “Dia de los Niños” our family celebrates this by buying what is known as “La Rosa de Reyes” also known as the “King’s Ring”.images During “Dia de los Niños” we sit around waiting for the equivalent of Santa, the Three Wise Men, who would bring us presents. In the “King’s Rings” there would be hidden multiple “baby Jesus”. If were to stumble upon one, you would have to host a party and provide tamales on “Dia de la Candeleria”.

 

Rosca-rebanada-con-figura

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Heritage

  1. brodrigues2 says:

    that is such a beautiful place to be born and grow up in. I like how you bring out the fact that a person doesn’t necessarily have to have only one culture, a mix of it, in your case being Mexican and American, is what makes you who you are. and we are ALL a mix of different cultures and heritages and we need to take great pride in that.

  2. dvelazquez2 says:

    I love Acapulco! That’s so cool that you were born there, have you ever jumped off the Quebrada? Well, I really enjoyed your reading and I am Mexican as well therefore it was easy to connect with your blog. My family celebrates in January as well, and we actually make the roscas from scratch. I also, liked how you admit that you don’t consider being 100% Mexican as your personal heritage.

  3. I really enjoyed reading your article. I think that its awesome that you incorporate both your American and Mexican heritage. With viewing your images helped me visualize aspects of your heritage. Acapulco looks like a beautiful place to visit!

  4. rgodinez2 says:

    I love celebrating Dia del Los Nino, and feel that I have more of a cultural connection with celebrating it than Christmas. I enjoyed reading your post and hope one day to visit Acapulco

Leave a Reply

