My Personal Heritage

I would consider various aspects of my life as contributors to my personal heritage. In my family, we have several traditions that may not seem like ordinary traditions to most people. For example, my family is made up of huge football fans, primarily San Francisco 49ers fans. Ever since I could remember, my family would get together on game days to watch our preferred team play. Even though sometimes games resulted in losses or our team had a bye week, it was the atmosphere of family and sharing that made those days better. I grew up watching videos and viewing photographs of what are considered some of the greatest moments in Niner football and I admired the athleticism and devotion players showed. To this day, on game days and whenever we see each other, my family talks about games that just aired or even great NFL moments. Below I’ve attached a photograph of one of the most iconic images associated with the 49ers.

Winning TD pass from Montana to Clark. January 10, 1982

“The Catch” – Winning TD pass from Montana to Clark. January 10, 1982.

Here is a video that briefly highlights “The Catch”, “The Catch 2”, and “The Catch 3”. It is not the best quality I could find, but it pretty much gives you an idea of what I am talking about in one brief video.

A tradition that my immediate family has is that we go to Hawaii every year. This has been going on for over 10 years and it is something I look forward to every time. When I was younger, I never fully appreciated the culture and beauty of the island that surrounded me. Now that I am older, I am more fascinated in the traditional Hawaiian way of life and enjoy learning more about a culture which I almost consider my own. Whenever we go to Oahu, Hawaii we visit the Pearl Harbor Memorial and take hikes across the beautiful landscape, and go on various tours. One of the tours we have had the chance to go on was the Circle Island Tour which stops by places such as the Nu’uanu Pali Lookout.

View from Nuʻuanu Pali lookout spot

View from Nuʻuanu Pali lookout spot

We also frequent luaus and visit the Polynesian Cultural Center. Here, people are exposed to the different cultures of some of the islands of French Polynesia such as Samoa, Fiji, New Zealand, Hawaii, Tonga, and Tahiti. Going to the Polynesian Cultural Center, even if it is just for the Ali’i Luau, gives people a wonderful way to experience a different culture.

When I travel to Hawaii with my family, we see landmarks almost everywhere we go. On the way to the beach we have passed by the Duke Kahanamoku Statue, who is known as “The Father of Modern Surfing” as well as the Diamond Head Crater, from which people can view a beautiful panoramic view of Honolulu, the capital of Hawaii.

Duke Kahanamoku Statue. Kuhio Beach, Waikiki, Oahu, Hawaii

Duke Kahanamoku Statue. Kuhio Beach, Waikiki, Oahu, Hawaii

The effect football and the Hawaiian culture have on my life has influenced my idea of personal heritage. If I ever have a family later in life, I will be sure to carry on these traditions. Even though those are two complete opposites and have little relevance to one another, they essentially make up part of who I am. Since I have been exposed to football and the Hawaiian culture from an early age, they essentially add to my personal heritage and make up who I am.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Personal Heritage

  1. ktorres24 says:

    I like that you want to incorportae your family’s tradition into what will one day be your OWN family.

  2. dchouu says:

    I really appreciated this post because I am part hawaiian and my grandfather was actually season ticket holders for the 49ers for 56 years! He even attended all of the super bowls except for this last year in 2012. Speaking from personal experience my hawaiian side of the family upholds tradition and culture with the utmost respect as well as family bonding time which consists of watching the 49ers. So I can totally relate to how yours is!

Leave a Reply

