My Personal Heritage

mazatlanfromthelighthouse 8246076258_f6190987bf_z

Mazatlan, Sinaloa is located in the southern parts of Mexico. Until the escalated amounts of violence, it was a popular tourist site.Mostly known for its relaxing beaches, many don’t realize the culture and local legends known among the locals. La Cueva del Diablo (The Devil’s Cave) is one of the many legends used to scare children into behaving. It is located near the beach front in an area full of tourism. People use to be able to enter the cave, but it is now gated and lock. Many tourist merely just glance at it then walk off. The local children though, look at the cave and see a place full with their worst nightmares. If  you walked by the cave you could look pass the red gate into the vast darkness. 

My mother was born in Sinaloa, so nearly every year we would visit Mazatlan. Since we stayed with my aunt, I would always hear the legends and local superstitions. The one I heard repeatedly was the legend of La Cueva del Diablo. There are many versions about what terror is within the cave. One of which I heard, spoke about the cave being endless. People would walk into the cave, and never find the end. It was rumor, that in the past, pirates used the cave; which lead people to believe there was treasure hidden inside. Others speak about how the cave use to hide soldiers, who guarded supplies in times of war.

Many of the locals even speak of the cave being the home of the devil. That version of the legend tells the story of how the cave was discovered. According to the story, a group of explorers discovered the cave and a few decided to go in. When those few never came back the remaining explorers started to worried. One got the idea to tie a rope around his waist. He told the remaining explorers to hold the other end of the rope. His belief was that those who entered the cave were lost inside. He entered the cave, and after awhile those who were left behind felt someone tug the rope. They follow the rope inside the cave, but all they found was a pile of ash. Which is why locals say those who walk in are taken away by the Devil.

This story for me reveals how this place was a huge part of my past. Since we would regularly visit, Mazatlan became my second home. The cave and it’s legend is part of many fun times I would spent with my cousins. We will go to the cave and see who dared to put their hand through the gate. We would look inside, and tell stories to each other about how we saw a shadow lurking inside. I remembered once we past by the cave at night. My cousin Jocelyn, being the bravest of us, walked up to the cave. She immediately ran back, her face was pale, and she swore to have seen red eyes within the cave. I honestly don’t believe in the legend, but I don’t think believing is the point. For me the cave was one of the fun times I had when I was younger. It was a game me and my cousins played when we were little. It was a horror story, to tell when we were awake in the middle of the night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Personal Heritage

  1. ktorres24 says:

    I think I would have been scared aswell! The beaches seem really nice there, I have a friend back home who is from there and she goes every year and brings back amazing pictures.

  2. brodrigues2 says:

    I think you are very lucky to have been able to visit such a beautiful location with a mysterious background like that yearly. it seems like a very interesting place to visit and it must be also very symbolic to you due to all the memories you have from it. its a site I would definitely want to visit.

  3. miapatel123 says:

    I found the stories that you provided for those caves to be entertaining. It’s places like these that brings mystery into the world. I would definitely like to visit a site like this.

Leave a Reply

