Hi i’m Catbug!!!

Please watch both videos to understand what I am trying to talk about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFWb7DG7zTc – Catbug minisode

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xc8e0ASIZyQ – Catbug episode

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

As a preview to what you are about to read, you will need to know that Catbug is a character from the Bravest Warriors series on Youtube. This series has been going on for a few years now, and is the group effort of a group of talented individuals who are able to come up with some crazy ideas and put it into a series of moving pictures. Catbug is a half cat, half bug creature who has the ability to randomly teleport between different dimensions. This character’s interesting views on how the world works and his ignorance has reminded me of my childhood which caused me to want to make this character part who I am.

Catbug recently became an important factor when it comes to defining what I believe is my personal heritage. Over the course of my life I have realized that without this essential factor in my life, I would have turned out to be a completely different person. Even though the story of Catbug is a recent event, this intangible piece of my heritage has separated me from my national heritage.

For a while, I believed that my national heritage took the form of the “American dream” where I was taught that the purpose for living in America was to get a good education and to own a house with a wife with a couple of kids. I thought that I could achieve happiness in life by just accomplishing these two simple things, but as new factors were introduced into my life, my idea of the “American Dream” became skewed from this original mentality to become what I view it as today.

Ever since I saw the time when Catbug told the love driven story between Rebecca and Sir Jeffers, I was moved to the point that I believed that my entire purpose for life was at fault. The way the story was told made me feel that I needed to go out and do something meaningful in life. As I continued to listen to Catbug’s stories, I came to the conclusion that I would have to pass these epic tales to the future generations. I have decided that these stories will become part of a new heritage. A heritage generated by the amalgamation of thought processes of digital natives

I believe that with the invention of the internet, a new type of heritage is formed. Before, heritage was something like a dance, a song, or an important building, but now, heritage is starting to generate on the internet. As people take part of a virtural reality, the line between the tangible and intangible is becoming thinner and thinner. As people become more immersed in virtural realities, our perception of heritages will change from historical events to computer generated simulations.

It is because I am a digital native that this event is able to define who I am. When the presents Catbug brought back turned into a frog monster and it turned into a door, Catbug brought back a piece of paper with the phrase “Ralph Waldo Pickle Chips is the key”. I would have never thought a story about meeting parents would have such an impact on my life, but ever since I heard that phrase, I started to believe that with every normal event, there is something completely insane happening somewhere else. The new addition to my heritage now has roots in the possibilities of other completely random events spontaneously appearing for unknown reasons.

Some people might argue with the fact that because Catbug came out a few months ago, that it would not be able to be part of my heritage. I believe that just because the stories of Catbug is not over 100 years old does not mean that these stories could not be part of my heritage. It’s a mix of these recent and old events that help define what my personal heritage will become.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hi i’m Catbug!!!

  1. mflores53 says:

    I really like how you think that the internet will be a new form of heritage because it is something that most people can access. I think that the internet is helps people conserve their heritage and pass it on. The internet is the new “oral stories” in a way.

  2. ktorres24 says:

    I liked the way you describe your personal heritage because it is very unique and outside the box!

  3. apalos17 says:

    Your view of Catbug being your heritage is awesome! It’s so different when you compare it to most responses! It’s a very thorough blog, I loved it!

  4. sbolanos3 says:

    I never thought that your heritage could be anything you related to. I’m impressed with that fact you related to something that out there. The internet has brought so many interesting ideas into the world.

Leave a Reply

